Dana Alliance for Brain Initiatives Elects Ten New Members

February 18, 2016


Ann Whitman
(212) 223-4040

New York, NY, February 18, 2016—The executive committee of the Dana Alliance for Brain Initiatives announced the names of ten members newly elected to the organization. Research interests among new members include Alzheimer’s disease, genomics, and epilepsy.

Founded in 1993, the Dana Alliance is a nonprofit organization of more than 560 leading neuroscientists committed to advancing public awareness about the progress and promise of brain research. Supported entirely by the Dana Foundation, the Dana Alliance does not fund research or make grants. This year, it began accepting members from around the globe, including its first members from South America and Asia.

The new members are:

Michael A. Burman, Ph.D., University of New England
Alain Chédotal, Ph.D., Institut de la Vision, France
Adrienne L. Fairhall, Ph.D., University of Washington
Robert Wolfe Greene, M.D., Ph.D., University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Nancy Y. Ip, Ph.D., The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Frances E. Jensen, M.D., F.A.C.P., University of Pennsylvania Health System
Ricardo B. Maccioni, M.D., Ph.D., University of Chile
Mart Saarma, Ph.D., University of Helsinki, Finland
Wendy A. Suzuki, Ph.D., New York University
Shinya Yamanaka, M.D., Ph.D., Kyoto University, Japan

In addition to the new members, current member Walter J. Koroshetz, M.D., director of the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, NIH, was elected to the Dana Alliance’s executive committee.

Recognized as leaders in their respective fields, Dana Alliance members are among the world’s foremost authorities in neuroscience research and clinical neurology.

The Dana Foundation is a private philanthropic organization that supports brain research through grants, publications, and educational programs.