Floyd E. Bloom is chairman emeritus of the Department of Neuropharmacology at the Scripps Research Institute in California, past president of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and former editor-in-chief of Science. He was chairman and founding CEO of Neurome, Inc., and is author of 25 books.

M. Flint Beal is neurologist-in-chief of the New York Presbyterian Hospital, and chairman of the Department of Neurology and Neuroscience at the Weill Medical College of Cornell University.

David J. Kupfer is the Thomas Detre Professor and chairman of psychiatry at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, and Medical Director of the Western Psychiatric Institute and Clinic.