Dana Alliance for Brain Initiatives Elects Twenty-Four New Members

March 7, 2019


Ann Whitman
(212) 223-4040 x657

New York, NY, March 7, 2019—The executive committee of the Dana Alliance for Brain Initiatives announced the names of twenty-four members newly elected to the organization. Research interests among new members are broad, including perception, brain development, stroke, and amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS).

Founded in 1993, the Dana Alliance is membership organization of more than 600 members from 38 countries committed to advancing public awareness about the progress and promise of brain research. It is supported by the Dana Foundation.

The new members are:

Luis A. Aguilar Mendoza, Ph.D., Universidad Peruana Cayetano Heredia, Peru
Karen F. Berman, M.D., National Institute of Mental Health, NIH, US
Pawel Boguszewski, Ph.D., Nencki Institute of Experimental Biology, Poland
Francesco Ferraguti, M.D., Innsbruck Medical University, Austria
Matthew E. Fink, M.D., Weill Cornell Medicine/New York Presbyterian, US
Stuart Firestein, Ph.D., Columbia University, US
Yukiko Goda, Ph.D., RIKEN Center for Brain Science, Japan
Ahmet Hoke, M.D., Ph.D., Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, US
Atsushi Iriki, D.D.S., Ph.D., D.M. Sc., RIKEN Center for Biosystems Dynamics Research, Japan
Tomohiro Ishizu, Ph.D., University College London, UK
Denise Manahan-Vaughan, Dr. habil., Ph.D., Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany
Eliezer Masliah, M.D., National Institute on Aging, NIH, US
John H. Maunsell, Ph.D., University of Chicago, US
Paula I. Moreira, M.Sc., Ph.D., University of Coimbra, Portugal
Alejandro Múnera, M.D., M.Sc., Ph.D., Universidad Nacional de Colombia, Colombia
Lionel Naccache, M.D., Ph.D., Hôpital de la Pitié-Salpêtrière, France
Uhtaek Oh, Ph.D., Brain Science Institute, KIST, Korea
Nam-Jong Paik, M.D., Ph.D., Seoul National University Bundang Hospital, Korea
Marisa Pedemonte, M.D., Ph.D., School of Medicine, CLAEH University, Uruguay
Linda Richards B.Sc., Ph.D., University of Queensland, Australia
Laurence Ris, Ph.D., University of Mons, Belgium
Jeffrey D. Rothstein, M.D., Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University, US
Rubin Wang, Ph.D., Institute for Cognitive Neurodynamics, China
Masashi Yanagisawa, M.D., Ph.D., University of Tsukuba, Japan

Recognized as leaders in their respective fields, Dana Alliance members are among the world’s foremost authorities in neuroscience research and clinical neurology. Each has made a personal commitment to support the mission of the Dana Alliance through active participation in outreach and educational activities, such as Brain Awareness Week (March 11-17, 2019).

The European Dana Alliance for the Brain (EDAB), a subset of the Dana Alliance, elected seventeen term members in 2018. Members are elected for four-year, renewable terms and are recognized for their outstanding record of public education and outreach in Europe. EDAB has over 290 full and term members in 33 countries.

The term members are:

Tomas Björklund, M.Sc., Ph.D., Lund University, Sweden
Dáša Čížková, D.V.M., D.Sc., Institute of Neuroimmunology, Slovakia
Hannah Critchlow, Ph.D., University of Cambridge, UK
John Cryan, PhD., University College Cork, Ireland
Jane Haley, B.Sc., Ph.D., University of Edinburgh, UK
Marija Heffer, Ph.D., University of Osijek, Croatia
Işil Kurnaz, Ph.D., Gebze Technical University, Turkey
Giampiero Leanza, Ph.D., University of Catania, Italy
Rodrigo Quian Quiroga, Ph.D., University of Leicester, UK
Rafal Rygula, Ph.D., Institute of Pharmacology Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland
Carmen Sandi, Ph.D., Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne, Switzerland
Kyriaki Sidiropoulou, Ph.D., University of Crete, Greece
Guadalupe Soria, Ph.D., Institut d’Investigacions Biomèdiques August Pi i Sunyer, Spain
Tara Spires-Jones, Ph.D., University of Edinburgh, UK
Anastasia Tsingotjidou, D.V.M., Ph.D., Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece
Wim Vanduffel, Ph.D., Harvard University, US; KU Leuven, Belgium
Richard Wingate, Ph.D., King’s College London, UK

The Dana Foundation is a private philanthropic organization dedicated to advancing understanding about the brain in health and disease through research grants and public outreach.