Internet Resources


by From the Dana Sourcebook of Immunology

January, 2006

General Information

American Academy of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology: www.aaaai.org

American Academy of Family Physicians: www.aafp.org

American Association of Immunologists: www.aai.org

American Association of Veterinary Immunologists: cvm.missouri.edu/aavi

American Autoimmune Related Diseases Association: www.aarda.org

American College of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology: www.acaai.org

American Lung Association: www.lungusa.org

American Society for Histocompatibility & Immunogenetics (ASHI): www.ashi-hla.org

Arthritis Foundation: www.arthritis.org

Association of Medical Laboratory Immunologists: www.amli.org

Association of Medical School Microbiology and Immunology Chairs: www.amsmic.org

Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America: www.aafa.org

Clinical Immunology Society: www.clinimmsoc.org

Clinical Ligand Assay Society: www.clas.org

eMedicine.com: www.emedicine.com

Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology: www.faseb.org

The Global Fund: www.theglobalfund.org/en

Hispanic American Allergy and Immunology Association: www.haama.org

Immune Deficiency Foundation: www.primaryimmune.org

ImmuneDisease.com: www.immunedisease.com

Immunization Action Coalition: www.immunize.org

Jeffrey Modell Foundation: www.jmfworld.com

Joint Council of Allergy, Asthma and Immunology: www.jcaai.org

Journal of Immunology: www.jimmunol.org

KidsHealth: www.kidshealth.org

MayoClinic.com: www.mayoclinic.com

Molecular Immunology Foundation: www.mifoundation.org

National Foundation for Infectious Diseases: www.nfid.org 

National Network for Immunization Information: www.immunizationinfo.org

National Primary Immunodeficiency Resource Center: npi.jmfworld.org

Primary Immunodeficiency Association: www.pia.org.uk

Society for Mucosal Immunology: www.socmucimm.org

Texas Allergy, Asthma and Immunology Society: www.taai.org

World Health Organization: www.who.int/en

 

U.S. Government Resources

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: www.cdc.gov

Department of Health and Human Services: www.hhs.gov

Environmental Protection Agency: www.epa.gov

National Biological Information Infrastructure: www.nbii.gov

National Cancer Institute: www.nci.nih.gov

National Center for Biotechnology Information: www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute: www.nhlbi.nih.gov

National Human Genome Research Institute: www.genome.gov

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases: www.niaid.nih.gov

National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases: www.niams.nih.gov

National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke: www.ninds.nih.gov

National Library of Medicine: www.nlm.nih.gov

 

Canadian Resources

Canadian Institutes of Health Research—Institute of Infection and Immunity: www.cihr-irsc.gc.ca/e/13533.html

Health Canada: www.hc-sc.gc.ca

European Resources

British Aerobiology Federation: www.pollenuk.co.uk/baf/BAF.html

British Society for Immunology: immunology.org Department of Health (UK): www.dh.gov.uk/Home/fs/en

European Academy of Allergology and Clinical Immunology: www.eaaci.net/site/homepage.php

European Federation of Allergy and Airway Diseases: www.efanet.org

European Society of Reproductive and Developmental Immunology: home5.inet.tele.dk/obchr/ESRADI.html

Health Protection Agency: www.hpa.org.uk

Medinfo (UK): www.medinfo.co.uk

 

Resources by Disease/Disorder

AIDS

See HIV.

Allergies

Allergy Society of South Africa: www.allergysa.org

World Allergy Organization: www.worldallergy.org

Alzheimer’s disease

Alzheimer’s Association: www.alz.org

Alzheimer’s Disease Education and Referral Center: www.alzheimers.org

Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)

ALS Association: www.alsa.org/

ALS Society of Canada: www.als.ca/

Asthma

American Lung Association: www.asthmacontrol.com

Asthma UK: www.asthma.org.uk

Global Initiative for Asthma: www.ginasthma.com

Lung Association (Canada): www.lung.ca/asthma

National Asthma Council (Australia): www.nationalasthma.org.au

Ataxia-Telangiectasia

A-T Children’s Project: www.atcp.org

Ataxia-Telangiectasia Society (UK): www.atsociety.org.uk

Autism

Autism Society of America: www.autism-society.org

Cure Autism Now Foundation: www.cureautismnow.org

Geneva Centre for Autism: www.autism.net

National Alliance for Autism Research: www.naar.org

National Autistic Society (UK): www.nas.org.uk

Autoimmune diseases

American Autoimmune Related Diseases Association: www.aarda.org

Bird flu

Agriculture Department—Animal Production and Health Division (Italy): www.fao.org/ag/againfo/subjects/en/health/ diseases-cards/special_avian.html

Cancer

American Association for Cancer Research: www.aacr.org

American Cancer Society: www.cancer.org

Cancer Research and Prevention Foundation: www.preventcancer.org

Cancer Research UK: www.cancerresearchuk.org

Dana-Farber Cancer Institute: www.dfci.harvard.edu

Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center: www.mskcc.org/mskcc/html/44.cfm

Chronic granulomatous disease

Immune Deficiency Foundation: www.primaryimmune.org

Crohn’s disease

Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation of America: www.ccfa.org

Diabetes

American Diabetes Association: www.diabetes.org

Canadian Diabetes Association: www.diabetes.ca

Children with Diabetes: www.childrenwithdiabetes.com

Joslin Diabetes Center: www.joslin.org

Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation International: www.jdf.org

Graft-versus-host disease

National Marrow Donor Program: www.marrow.org

Hepatitis A

Hepatitis Foundation International: www.hepfi.org 

Hepatitis Neighborhood: www.hepatitisneighborhood.com

Hepatitis.org: www.hepatitis.org

Hepatitis Magazine: www.hepatitismag.com

HepNet (Canada): www.hepnet.com

Hepatitis C

See Hepatitis A.
Hepatitis C Information Center: www.hepatitis-central.com

Herpes

American Herpes Foundation: www.herpes-foundation.org

Herpes.com: www.herpes.com

HIV

Aegis-AIDS Education Global Information System: www.aegis.com

AIDSmap: www.aidsmap.com

The Body: www.thebody.com

HIV InSite: hivinsite.ucsf.edu

Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS: www.unaids.org/en/default.asp

Lyme disease

Lyme Disease Association: www.lymediseaseassociation.org

Lyme Disease Foundation: www.lyme.org

Lyme Info: www.lymeinfo.net

LymeNet: www.lymenet.org

Malaria

Africa Fighting Malaria: www.fightingmalaria.org 

Malaria Foundation International: www.malaria.org

Malaria Journal: www.malariajournal.com

Malaria Vaccine Initiative: www.malariavaccine.org

Measles

Measles Initiative: www.measlesinitiative.org

Multiple sclerosis

All About Multiple Sclerosis: www.mult-sclerosis.org

Consortium of Multiple Sclerosis Centers: www.mscare.org

MS Australia: www.msaustralia.org.au

Multiple Sclerosis Association of America: www.msaa.com

Multiple Sclerosis Foundation: www.msfacts.org

Multiple Sclerosis International Federation: www.msif.org

Multiple Sclerosis Society of Canada: www.mssociety.ca

National Multiple Sclerosis Society: www.nmss.org

Rabies

Rabies.com: www.rabies.com

Respiratory syncytial virus (RSV)

RSV Info Center: www.rsvinfo.com

Rheumatoid arthritis

American College of Rheumatology: www.rheumatology.org

Arthritis Foundation: www.arthritis.org

Rotavirus

Rotavirus Vaccine Program: www.rotavirusvaccine.org

SARS

SARSReference: www.sarsreference.com

Severe combined immunodeficiency disease (SCID) SCID.NET: www.scid.net

Sjögren’s syndrome

Sjögren’s Syndrome Foundation, Inc.: www.sjogrens.com

Systemic lupus erythematosus

Alliance for Lupus Research: www.lupusresearch.org

Lupus Foundation of America: www.lupus.org/

Toxic shock syndrome

Toxic Shock Syndrome Information Service: www.toxicshock.com

Tuberculosis

Tuberculosis.net: www.tuberculosis.net

Information on diseases not listed can usually be found on the general information or government resources Web sites.